Sustainable Groundwater Management - SGMA

Groundwater Management In Merced County

Merced County Subbasin Map

In 2014 Governor Jerry Brown signed three laws collectively known as the Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) requiring local management of groundwater. 

Merced County includes portions of four groundwater subbasins requiring sustainable groundwater planning and management under SGMA.  Each subbasin will implement a Groundwater Sustainability Plan (GSP), developed and managed by locally-driven Groundwater Sustainability Agencies (GSAs).  

All four subbasins in Merced County are implementing adopted GSPs.  

Merced County takes its SGMA responsibilities seriously and is committed to working collaboratively with local water agencies to develop policies that lead to groundwater sustainability.  

This SGMA implementation timeline illustrates the deadlines required by DWR.

Groundwater Resources

California Department of Water Resources SGMA Portal

California's Groundwater Live

State Water Resources Control Board SGMA Program